

Dominic SAPPEY-MARINIER is associate-professor ("exceptional class") in Biophysics and Medical Imaging at the Medical school of Lyon University. After his graduation in Bioengineering (1984), he passed his PhD at Lyon University. He pursued his research education during a 3-years postdoc in M.W. Weiner's MR unit (1987-1990) at UCSF. He passed his PhD supervisor degree (HDR) in 1996. He was visiting researcher in D.L. Arnold's MR unit (1997-2000) at Mc Gill University of Montreal. His main interest concerns the development of advanced Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy and Imaging techniques and their applications to brain diseases and cognitive processes.

As head of the CERMEP MRI department, he developed projects on Sonata 1.5T and Prisma 3T MRI Siemens systems using advanced MRI methods, and particularly fMRI techniques in awake primates. In the frame of CREATIS laboratory (UMR 5220 CNRS & U1206 INSERM), his research activity is focused on two major clinical projects: the characterization of diffuse pathological mechanisms in MS to better predict the disease's evolution and the investigation of intelligence processes in high potential (HP) children and adults. More recently, these projects have led to the development of MRI connectivity techniques and processing approaches such as graph theory and machine learning.

He published 95 scientific articles and presented more than 200 communications. He is co-author of five MRI books and has also published two public diffusion books on the management of the Y generation and on high potential of children.

He has been the French partner of the European TRANSACT program (FP7-PEOPLE-ITN 2013-2017). Currently, he participates to the national OFSEP project (2010-2020) and is the coordinator of the European project INSPiRE-MED (H2020-MSCA-ITN-2018-813120).

He is member of the Academic Council of the University Lyon1, General Secretary of the Ethic Committee, and member of the university national council (CNU). He has been president of the French MR society (GRAMM 2008-2011) and founder of SFRMBM (2012-2014). He was member of the ESMRMB SPC (2013, 2015, 2019) and ECR delegate (2017-2019).